It Has Happened, Someone Told Me I Look Good for My Age

Aman
4 min readJun 27, 2022

I was recently told I was beautiful…for my age.

It was the first time the recognition or involvement of my age was connected to my physical attribute.

To say it was surprising would ring true. To say upon reflection I was offended would be true as well.

It was a complicated situation and one I know I will now start to be a part of more and more as I age and age because one cannot control the years.

Beauty and age are not related.

I was beautiful at twenty, and I am beautiful now.

The question is, am I supposed to not be? Is it a shock? Why so? What am I supposed to look like as I near forty?

Also, forty is not old, so youths, please mind yourself.

What I have learned as I have gotten older in life is that I do not fear aging, nor do I see it as a negative. I still strive to eat healthily, move my body and feel as good as I can, but I do not fight the aging process.

I do not use Botox, nor do I dye my white hairs.

I have no judgment or opinion on those who do, but for me, I have no strong internal desire yet to do those things, and I might…

--

--

Aman

I write about issues that are near and dear to my heart, with the hope that my stories, experiences, and struggles may empower others.