I Thought All Women Were Unhappy

How to Claim Your Happiness and Keep It, As a Woman

Aman
5 min readSep 2, 2022

Childhood was a very introspective time for me. I was an introvert, shy and quite quiet. I was always more comfortable observing and assessing the world, but not wanting to ask too many questions, so I made a lot of assumptions based on what I saw.

I remember seeing and believing that both of my parents both worked very hard, inside and outside of the house. Both of my parents were hands-on parents, and they helped get us ready, prepare our meals and send us to school. Maybe not equally, but it certainly was not foreign in our house for our dad to do our hair or cook us breakfast.

One thing that was also true was that I knew my dad liked spending time with us and that my mom seemed…frustrated. It seemed that no matter how much she did her to-do list was never ending.

It was not just my mom though. It was my aunts, friends’ mothers, and neighbours. All the women in my life seemed frustrated with…life. They seemed discontent, and I was worried.

As a child growing up, I thought boys were favoured over girls because girls grew up to be unhappy.

I did not understand the world then the way I do now.

What I was observing in the women around me was the result…

--

--

Aman

I write about issues that are near and dear to my heart, with the hope that my stories, experiences, and struggles may empower others.