Do Wealthy Parents Produce Lazy Adult Children?

Aman
5 min readMay 24, 2018

A friend of mine got a luxury vehicle as her graduation gift from her parents. Her dad explained to me that this vehicle was a necessity because it was much safer than normal vehicles, so this gift was not extravagant and his child was not spoiled for receiving it.

As I looked at my friend, all giddy and excited to drive her sixty thousand dollar car, I wondered, ‘Where can she go from here?’

If your standard, starting point in life is luxury, where does one have to evolve to?

My first car was a 1984 Nissan Sentra, I had a lot to evolve to, but I appreciated the drive for evolution.

Is getting too much, too early in life a detriment or an advantage?

Is the yearning and struggle for improvement the catalyst to success?

I know parents who give their children unlimited spending money, but I worry, what happens when that well dries up?

I have seen a lot of children of financially well off parents struggle in their adult life. They just cannot seem to find the focus, drive…

--

--

Aman

I write about issues that are near and dear to my heart, with the hope that my stories, experiences, and struggles may empower others.